UPCOMING EVENTS

Welcome to Virginia Highland Books



VaHi Kids 2024 Summer Reading Program Starts June 1!

Take a reading road trip this summer! Here's how you do it:

  • Visit the store and pick up a Summer Reading Log
  • Read books! We’ve got lots of great books to choose from!
  • Enter the title and author of the books you read into your book log.
  • Bring completed books to a cashier in the store:
    • Grades K-3: read 10 books per log.
    • Grades 4-6: read 5 books per log.
  • Choose a prize from the treasure box in the store for each Summer Reading Log completed!

Repeat the steps as many times as you’d like between June 1 and August 1, 2024! A Grand Prize will be awarded in early August to the person who reads the most books over the summer!


June 13: In Store Event: Author Anna Monardo


Join us in the store on June 13 as we welcome Author Anna Monardo at 7:15pm for a discussion and signing of her memoir After Italy: A Family Memoir of Arranged Marriage. This beautifully written story of three generations of marriage is a page-turner. Monardo's honest and reflective memoir reveals intergenerational patterns as intricate as Italian lace. This family story has something to teach us all. RSVP here to attend!



June 15: In Store Event, Author Maggie Auffarth


Join us in the store on June 15 from 3:00 to 5:00 pm as we welcome Maggie Auffarth, who will be signing copies of her book, Burn it All. This propulsive debut psychological thriller set in small-town Georgia explores rage, redemption, and the many layers of toxic friendship, perfect for fans of Andrea Bartz and Rachel Hawkins.

 

June 2024 VaHi Reads Book Club Meeting

In June, our VaHi Reads Book Club will read and discuss the book The Other Valley by Scott Alexander Howard. Meeting options are at 1:00 pm or 7:00 pm on June 19. RSVP is required to attend a meeting, with attendance limited to thirty people per meeting; our Book Club meetings fill up fast! RSVP here to attend.

 

June 2024 Sci Fan Book Club Meeting

In June, our Sci Fan Book Club will read and discuss the book Empire of the Vampire by Jay Kristoff on June 23 at 5:15 pm. RSVP is required to attend a meeting, with attendance limited to thirty people per meeting; our Book Club meetings fill up fast! RSVP here to attend.

 



July 13: Author Elle Cosimano at the Duluth Library
 

Finlay Donovan is coming to the Duluth Public Library! Elle Cosimano is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, an International Thriller Award winner, a Bram Stoker Award finalist, and an Edgar® Award nominee. Her acclaimed young adult novels include Nearly GoneHolding SmokeThe Suffering Tree, and Seasons of the Storm. Elle’s debut novel for adults, Finlay Donovan Is Killing It, kicked off a witty, fast-paced contemporary mystery series, which was a PEOPLE Magazine Pick and was named one of New York Public Library’s Best Books of 2021. Register here to attend.

  

August 24, 2024- In Store Event, Rebecca J. Sanford

We welcome author Rebecca J. Sanford to the store from 1:00 to 3:00 pm on August 24 for a book signing. Rebecca is the author of The Disappeared, recipient of the Women’s Fiction Writers Association Rising Star Award. She received her MA in international affairs from the New School in New York City. Originally from New York, Rebecca now lives in Florida with her family.

RETURN TO HOME PAGE